Burnt Sugar Repertory Arkestra presents Any World (That I’m Welcome to) Sex Race Hoodoo & The Steely Dan Conductions A Hipster Carnivalesque in Post Soul Vernacular Curated by Vernon Reid on March 1, 2012 at Lincoln Center New York

We are pleased to announce this incredibly creative installation this week at Lincoln Center. Thanks to O.G. soulhead and Burnt Sugar conductor, Greg Tate, for bringing this to our attention. Kudos to him and new soulhead.com contributor Carl Hancock-Rux for his participation in this event, which should be a sonic adventure like no other. Here are more details from Lincoln Center:

Date: March 1, 2012
Time: 8:30PM
Price: FREE via Target Free Thursdays
Location: David Rubenstein Atrium at Lincoln Center







Description from Lincoln Center:

“Burnt Sugar can be many things: lush, hypnotically psychedelic…avant garde orchestra, blazing funk band, and also a combination of the two.” – New York Music Daily

Burnt Sugar the Arkestra Chamber is a sprawling band of musicians whose prodigious personnel allows to freely juggle a wide swath of the experimental soul-jazz-hip hop spectrum. “Arkestra Conductor Greg Tate says, “Burnt Sugar got the nerve to claim Sly Stone, Morton Feldman, Billie Holiday, Jimi Hendrix and Jean Luc Ponty as progenitiors. Our player-ranks include known Irish fiddlers, AACM refugees, Afro-punk rejects, unrepentant beboppers, feminist rappers, jitterbugging doowoppers, frankly loud funk-a-teers and rodeo stars of the digital divide.”

In “Any World I’m Welcome To,” Burnt Sugar subverts and lays claim to the Steely Dan songbook, with curation by guitar hero and conceptualist Vernon Reid.

Special Guest Interlocutor: Carl Hancock Rux
Featured Guest Siren: Vinia Mojica
Creative Direction/MD: Vernon Reid
Creative MisDirectionL: Greg Tate
Executive Producer: Jared Michael Nickerson

Vocals: Mikel Banks, Lisala, Micah Gaugh,Karma Mayet Johnson,Bruce Mack, Shelley Nicole, Vinia Mojica, Carl Hancock-Rux, Mazz Swift
Guitars: Andre Lassalle, Ben Tyree, Vernon Reid
Keys: Leon Gruenbaum, Bruce Mack
Bass: Jared Michael Nickerson
Drums La Frae Sci
Horns: V. Jeffrey Smith (Arranger), Lewis ‘Flip’ Barnes Jr., Micah Gaugh, ‘Moist’ Paula Henderson, David ‘Smoota’ Smith
Violin: Mazz Swift

Related Articles

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap