Robert Glasper Experiment Announces Release of “Black Radio 2” Available for Pre-Order

Robert Glasper Experiment Announces Release of "Black Radio 2" Available for Pre-Order

We are too excited about this next round of amazing music from jazz breakout Robert Glasper. His first hybrid project, Black Radio, was critically acclaimed and this effort promises to be the same sort of media darling we have come to expect from this cat.

From Robert Glasper’s site:

“The year just got a lot more soulful” wrote SPIN after Robert Glasper Experiment announced the forthcoming release of Black Radio 2. Now RGX has announced an expanded Deluxe Edition of Black Radio 2 that will also be available October 29 digitally and on CD and will include 4 additional tracks featuring special guests Macy Gray, Jean Grae, Bilal, Jazmine Sullivan, and Eric Roberson, as well as a cover of the Bill Withers classic “Lovely Day” that includes a spoken intro from Mr. Withers himself. The iTunes pre-order for Black Radio 2 is available today and comes with an instant grat download of the album’s lead single “Calls” featuring Jill Scott, which impacted at radio last week and was Most Added at Urban AC. Fans can find news about the new album, listen to and purchase music, watch exclusive videos, see upcoming tour dates and more in The Official Robert Glasper Experiment App, which is available now exclusively through the App Store.

On their 2012 breakout Black Radio, RGX laid out a new paradigm for creative music, reaching beyond entrenched genre boundaries to create a singular vision that drew from all reaches of contemporary black music and beyond. Black Radio drew unanimous praise from critics across the board and earned Glasper the highest chart positions of his career when the album debuted at #10 on Billboard‘s Top Current Albums chart. The album kept earning accolades (a BET Centric Award nomination, a Soul Train Award win) all the way to the 2013 GRAMMY Awards where Black Radio was awarded Best R&B Album.

RGX ups the ante with the release of Black Radio 2, another genre-defying effort that takes the Black Radio blueprint and builds to even greater heights. The core remains the Experiment, as astoundingly versatile a band as has ever existed, featuring Robert Glasper on keyboards, Derrick Hodge on bass, Mark Colenburg on drums, and Casey Benjamin on vocoder and saxophone. Providing the vocals on the album’s standard edition is another jaw-dropping roll call of vocalists including Common, Patrick Stump of Fall Out Boy, Brandy, Jill Scott, Dwele, Marsha Ambrosius, Anthony Hamilton, Faith Evans, Norah Jones, Snoop Dogg, Lupe Fiasco, Luke James, Emeli Sandé, Lalah Hathaway, and Malcolm-Jamal Warner.

The track listing for Black Radio 2 (Deluxe Edition) is as follows:

1. Baby Tonight (Black Radio 2 Theme) / Mic Check 2
2. I Stand Alone featuring Common and Patrick Stump
3. What Are We Doing featuring Brandy
4. Calls featuring Jill Scott
5. Worries featuring Dwele
6. Trust featuring Marsha Ambrosius
7. Yet To Find featuring Anthony Hamilton
8. You Own Me featuring Faith Evans
9. Let It Ride featuring Norah Jones
10. Persevere featuring Snoop Dogg, Lupe Fiasco and Luke James
11. Somebody Else featuring Emeli Sandé
12. Jesus Children of America featuring Lalah Hathaway and Malcolm-Jamal Warner


13. Big Girl Body featuring Eric Roberson
14. You’re My Everything featuring Bilal and Jazmine Sullivan
15. I Don’t Even Care featuring Jean Grae and Macy Gray
17. Lovely Day (Intro by Bill Withers)

[amazon_link id=”B00E7Z7D2M” target=”_blank” container=”” container_class=”” ]PRE-ORDER[/amazon_link]

Related Articles

Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap